About GIES

Background

Background

An important factor in enhancing the sustainability of an ageing society is effectiveness in facilitating advancements in relevant areas including assistive technology, inclusive design, etc. for enabling independent living and social participation of older adults in good health, comfort and safety.

The Gerontech and Innovation Expo cum Summit (GIES) is thus organised by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Hong Kong Council of Social Service and the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation to provide a platform for all relevant parties, from experts, industry leaders and policymakers in relevant disciplines to the elderly persons and their families and carers to share their views and get stimulated, with the aim of enhancing public awareness on technology and innovation for the elderly and encouraging the development and adoption of relevant solutions in Hong Kong.

Objectives

Objectives

  1. To showcase local and foreign innovation products and ideas;
  2. To increase awareness of general public and the demand for technological intervention related to the elderly;
  3. To engage stakeholders to meet, to have dialogues and to be stimulated; and
  4. To initiate the momentum for a multi-stakeholders, multi-disciplinary platform for continuous collaboration.

After the Expo, we look forward to seeing more tailor-made and purpose-built products and services to be available for the Hong Kong older adults in near future, so as to support ageing with dignity, independence and choice.

Covered topics

Covered topics

1) Ideas for Ageing in Place

  • The Smart, Livable Home
  • Quality Caregiving
  • Quality Food

2) Ideas for Mobility and Social Inclusion

  • Enabling Smart Mobility
  • Successful Integration
  • Technology Enabled Inclusion

3) Ideas for Digital Innovation

  • Transforming to a Digital Culture
  • Integrated Health and Social Care Services
  • Cloud and Internet of Things
Welcoming messages

Welcoming messages

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Hong Kong is lucky to be one of the places enjoying the longest life expectancy in the world. While longevity should be celebrated, it is also the defining challenge of our time. We need to make sure that the longer lives of our elderly are lived well and healthily. It is the healthy life expectancy, not just life expectancy, that we should aspire for. But our current system is already under strain in keeping up with the social service and health care needs of today’s ageing population. As the pace of our demographic change continues to accelerate with the elderly proportion climbing from the existing 17% to 31% in the next 20 years, the demand will grow substantially. Changes are essential to manage the huge demand for care in the coming years. Much of the answer lies in innovation.

While we will always be fascinated by state-of-art technologies such as robotic health workers, not all innovation requires rocket science. Indeed, for most elderly who are ageing at home, what they need are relatively low tech solutions or even tech-free products with effective design to prevent falls or help them manage their declining hearing and visual ability as well as mobility. Care-givers or family members can also benefit from innovation as through mobile devices they can stay connected with the elderly and monitor their medication record or health situation such as blood pressure. Further, innovation can help professional care workers in institutionalised settings do their jobs easier, better and safer while improving the quality of care for the elderly.

In recent years, we are encouraged by the emergence of local innovation to improve the functioning of our elderly, slow their physical or cognitive decline, manage their chronic, non-communicable disease conditions, support their autonomy, facilitate their social inclusion, delay their institutionalisation and thus turn ageing in place into a reality. These accomplishments notwithstanding, much work remains to be done. We see the need for greater awareness and appreciation of the power of technology and innovation in changing the way we age amongst our elderly and their care-givers, policy makers, industry leaders and healthcare/social service professionals. We see the need for engaging the elderly in articulating their needs and preferences and facilitating discussion between the Government and other stakeholders on how best to match technology or enable innovation to meet elderly’s needs in the light of overseas experience. We also see the need for fostering closer collaboration among various stakeholders in the innovation cycle to smoothen the process from the incubation of an idea to ultimately benefiting elderly users.

These are the motivations behind our organising the first GIES on 16-18 June 2017 at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. It will be held as one of the celebratory activities of the 20th Anniversary of the establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The objectives of GIES are to promote community awareness of the power of technology and innovation for healthy and active ageing; identify the driving forces and hurdles in encouraging innovation for the ageing population in Hong Kong; and prioritise the areas that are in most need of innovative solutions to cope with the ageing challenge. We look forward to receiving you and having fruitful exchanges at the GIES in June this year.

The Hong Kong Council of Social Service

The Hong Kong Council of Social Service (HKCSS) is an umbrella organization of over 450 Agency Members, that provide quality social welfare services for those in need through thousands of service units all over Hong Kong. We devote to promote a just and inclusive society by promoting collaborative efforts among NGOs in service planning and development, advocating social policy advancement as well as facilitating cross-sectoral partnership.

Adoption of innovation and technology provides new opportunities for advancing long term care and raising quality of life in the new era.  The HKCSS has looked into the possibility of bringing in assistive technology and inclusive design to enable independent living and social participation so that senior citizens could be assured of good health, dignity, comfort and safety.

The Gerontech and Innovation Expo cum Summit marks the beginning of the Council’s effort in congregating a crowd of multidisciplinary experts, leaders in the community and service users to promote gerontechnology.  It is also a signature event in celebrating the 70th Anniversary of the HKCSS in 2017.

The HKCSS looks forward to seeing more tailor-made and purpose-built products and services becoming available in Hong Kong, so as to support ageing in place with dignity, independence and choice.

General Information

General Information

Venue: Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre Hall 3DE

Address:1 Expo Drive, Wanchai, Hong Kong

Opening Ceremony and VIP tour

16June 2017 (Friday)                              10:00 – 12:00  (for Media and VIPs only)

Exhibition Date and Time for Public

16June 2017 (Friday)                              13:00 – 19:00

17June 2017 (Saturday)                          10:00 – 19:00

18June 2017 (Sunday)                             10:00 – 17:00


1. Special Arrangements for Tropical Typhoon & Black Rainstorm Warning

All visitors are requested to note the emergency measures under the following situations. The measures will be implemented should there be a Tropical Typhoon or Black Rainstorm Warning Signal during the Gerontech and Innovation Expo cum Summit 2017

1.1 Special Arrangements for Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal

(A) Before Opening Hours
1. If a Pre-No. 8 Special Announcement is issued before 8:30am, the exhibition will remain closed. In the rare situation when a Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 8 (or above) is issued before 8:30am without a Pre-No. 8 (or above) Special Announcement, the exhibition hall will remain closed.

2. The exhibition will be re-opened to the public two hours after the Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 8 is cancelled.

( B) During Opening Hours
1. Once the Hong Kong Observatory issues a Pre-No. 8 Special Announcement, giving advance notice to the public that a Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 8 will be issued during the exhibition period, the exhibition will be closed in two hours. The Organizer will broadcast such notice immediately. Exhibitors and visitors will be requested to leave the HKCEC as soon as possible

2. In the rare situation when a Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No. 8 (or above) is issued without a Pre-No. 8 (or above) Special Announcement, the exhibition will be closed immediately. The Organizer will broadcast such notice immediately. Exhibitors and visitors will be requested to leave the exhibition venue immediately.

1.2 Special Arrangements for Black Rainstorm Warning Signal

(A) During Opening Hours
1. If a Black Rainstorm Warning Signal is issued during the exhibition period, the exhibition will be remain open. Exhibitors and visitors onsite are recommended to stay in the HKCEC for their own safety

1.3 Other Issues

1. The Organizer will make an announcement on the above special arrangements through the website. Visitors may contact the Organiser regarding their concerns of the above arrangements

Co-hosts

Co-organiser

Major Sponsors

Sponsor

Contact Us

The Hong Kong Council of Social Service

Address: 12/F, Duke of Windsor Social Service Building

15 Hennessy Road Wanchai, Hong Kong

Telephone: 2876 2463

Fax: 2865 0823

Email: gies2017@hkcss.org.hk

Facebook

Copyright © 2017 - The Hong Kong Council of Social Service. All Rights Reserved.

展会概览

背景

背景

社会要在人口老化的进程中得以持续发展,推动相关范畴(包括辅助科技及共融设计)的创新乃不可或缺的一环,以便让长者能在健康、舒适及安全的环境下得以自主生活及参与社会。

在这个背景下,香港特别行政区政府、香港社会服务联会及香港科技园公司共同举办了本次乐龄科技博览暨高峰会,以提供一个平台予所有相关持分者,包括有关范畴的专家、行业领导者及政策制定者以至长者与他们的家人及照顾者交流意见及得到新的启发,从而提高公众对长者科技与创新的认识及促进相关解决方案在香港的发展及应用。

举办目标

举办目标

  1. 展示本地以及世界各地的相关创新产品及意念;
  2. 提升社会大众对长者科技应用的认识及需求;
  3. 让相关持分者交流意见及得到启发;及
  4. 提供平台推动跨界别持分者的长远合作。

我们期望会后可促成更多就香港长者情况度身定做的产品及服务的发展,支援长者能更有尊严、可自主及有选择地安享晚年。

展会主题

展会主题

1) 居家安老

  • 智活家居
  • 高质素的照顾方案
  • 高质素的食物

2) 活动能力与社区共融

  • 促进自如活动
  • 成功的社区融合
  • 科技促成的共融

3) 创新数码科技

  • 转型成数码文化
  • 医疗及社区照顾的融合
  • 云端及物联网
欢迎辞

欢迎辞

香港特别行政区政府

香港有幸成为全球最长寿的地区之一。但在庆贺之馀,我们也要面对人口高龄化所带来的挑战。我们要确保长寿的长者能活得健康快乐,所以我们所要追求的不应只是长寿,而是长者能够长寿而健康。现时日渐增加的高龄人口已对当前的制度在提供社会及医疗服务方面造成压力,随着长者人口比例在20年内由目前的17%攀升至31%,他们对服务的需求也会随之大幅增加。要妥善处理未来对照顾服务的庞大需求,改变是刻不容缓,而创新科技是当中的关键。

我们经常会被先进科技如机械「医护人员」吸引着迷,但并非所有的创新都等同需要类似的「高科技」。诚然,对居家长者来说,他们需要的是相对非高科技甚或无科技成份,但具备有效预防跌倒、改善日常生活听觉及视觉或帮助他们自如行动设计的产品。照顾者和长者的家人也可以从创新中得益,例如通过移动装置如手提电话等与长者保持联繫,并监测他们的服药记录或健康状况(如血压情况)。院舍专业护理的工作也可受惠于创新而更容易、便捷及安全地为长者提供更优质的服务。

近年来,我们本地创新的发展在协助改善长者的机能、延缓他们身体或认知上的退化、处理他们一些长期或不具传染性病患恶化的情况、帮助他们自如生活以至融入社区及推迟他们进入院舍的时间等方面,均有很令人鼓舞的成果,令长者居家安老能够实现。在取得这些成绩的同时,我们还需要努力向前。我们深感有需要提高长者、照顾者、政策制定者、相关行业领导者及护理/社会服务专业人员等就科技与创新对改变晚年生活方式的理解和认知。我们认为需要引入长者的参与让他们直接提出需求及喜好;并可参照国外经验协助政府与其他持份者就如何以科技或创新满足长者需要对话。我们也需要促进不同持份者在这个创新的进程中更紧密合作,让意念化为能成功帮助长者的产品的过程变得更为顺畅。

以上是我们筹办2017年6月16日至18日于香港会议展览中心举办的首届乐龄科技博览暨高峰会背后的理念。这项目亦将会是香港特别行政区成立20週年的庆祝活动之一。

透过本次活动,我们希望能够提高公众对科技应用如何协助处理长者不同方面需要的意识及认识、探讨在香港鼓励针对老龄人口的创新的助力及障碍,及找出最需要运用创新方式应对人口老化挑战的范畴。我们期待于六月与您交流。

香港社会服务联会

香港社会服务联会﹝简称社联﹞是一个代表非政府社会服务机构的联会组织,现时有超过四百五十间机构会员,它们透过属下数千个服务单位,为本港市民提供优质社会福利服务。

我们透过推动非政府机构在服务发展、倡导社会政策及发展跨界别伙伴协作等范畴上通力合作,全力携手建构一个公平及共融的社会。

应用创新意念及科技,能进一步改善长期护理及提昇生活质素。社联推动引入辅助科技及共融设计,希望能让长者在健康、有尊严、舒适及安全的环境下得以自主生活及参与社会。

GIES 标誌社联的决心集合不同界别的专家、社区领导及服务使用者一起推动发展长者科技。这活动亦是庆祝社联于2017年成立七十周年的重点项目。

社联期望会后可促成更多产品及服务的发展,有利长者能有尊严、可自主及有选择地居家安老。

一般资讯

一般资讯

地点: 香港会议展览中心展览馆3DE

地址: 香港湾仔会议道1号

开幕典礼及嘉宾预展

2017年6月16日 (星期五)                    10:00 – 12:00 (只开放予传媒及嘉宾)

展览日期及时间 (公众人士)

2017年6月16日 (星期五)                    13:00 – 19:00

2017年6月17日 (星期六)                    10:00 – 19:00

2017年6月18日 (星期日)                    10:00 – 17:00


热带气旋袭港及黑色暴雨警告讯号下之特别安排

1.1 热带气旋警告信号

(A) 展览会开放前
1. 如八号预警于上午8时30分前发出,展览会将暂时关闭。在罕有情况下,如八号(或以上)热带气旋警告信号在未有发出预警下于上午8时30分前悬挂,展览会同样暂时关闭。

2. 展览会将会在八号热带气旋警告信号取消两小时后重开予参观人士。

(B) 展览会进行期间
1. 如八号预警于展览会进行期间发出,主办机构将立刻作出广播,宣布展览会将于两小时后关闭,并请在场的参展及参观人土尽快离开会场。

2. 在罕有情况下,如八号(或以上)热带气旋警告信号在未有发出预警下悬挂,主办机构将立刻作出广播,宣布展览会即时关闭,并请在场的参展及参观人土立即离开会场。主办机构将依当天实际情况作出特别安排。如有任何更改,将尽快通知各方单位。

1.2 黑色暴雨警告信号下之特别安排

(A) 展览会开放前
1. 如黑色暴雨警告信号于上午8时30分前发出,展览会将暂时关闭。直至到天文台改挂较低暴雨警告或除下黑色暴雨警告信号为止。

2. 展览会将会在黑色暴雨警告信号取消两小时后重开予参观人士。

(B) 展览会进行期间

1. 如黑色暴雨警告信号于展览会进行期间发出,展览会将继续举行,主办机构将立刻作出广播,呼吁在场参展商及参观人士留在会场,直至到黑色暴雨警告信号取消为止,以策安全。

1.3 其他注意事项

主办机构会透过展览会网页及各大众传播媒介公佈以上特别安排。参展商如有任何疑问,可致电主办机构查询。

联合主办

协办

主要赞助

赞助

联络我们

香港社会服务联会

地址: 香港湾仔轩尼诗道15号

温莎公爵社会服务大厦12楼

电话: 2876 2463

传真: 2865 0823

电邮: gies2017@hkcss.org.hk

Facebook

版权所有 © 2017 - 香港社会服务联会